James Arthur, University of Toronto (Canada), is the winner of the 2015 Wolf Prize in Mathematics

"For his monumental work on the trace formula and his fundamental contributions to the theory of automorphic representations of reductive groups." The citation states that "Arthur's ideas, achievements and the techniques he introduced will have many more deep applications in the theory of automorphic representations, and the study of locally symmetric spaces. Arthur's work is a mathematical landmark that will inspire future generations of mathematicians."

Arthur received his PhD from Yale University in 1970, and has taught at the University of Toronto since 1979. Arthur has achieved many distinctions in his career, including being a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and the Royal Society of London, and member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 1999 he received the Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, making him the only mathematician to have won Canada's top award in science. Arthur has been an invited speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians three times and was invited to give an address at the 2005 Abel Prize Celebration in honor of award winner Peter Lax. Arthur served as president of the AMS 2005-2006, was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 2014, and is a Fellow of the AMS. The Wolf Prize Laureates receive their awards from the President of the State of Israel. The prize presentation takes place at a special ceremony at the Knesset Building (Israel's Parliament), in Jerusalem.